Tribute from the heart!

English: "Prof. Wangari Maathai, a Kenyan...
English: “Prof. Wangari Maathai, a Kenyan environmentalist and political activist (who won the coveted Nobel prize for her effort towards sustainable development, democracy and peace) receives a trophy awarded to her by the Kenya national human rights commission for her contribution towards humanity.” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello, I am doing two poems today, I didn’t manage to post one yesterday! Read on…

I have just been telling you about giving to nature in the poem, Giving to nature; Nature smiles back (click to read). Here is a poem I wrote on 29th September 2011, as a tribute to a world widely recognized woman, Nobel laureate, Prof. Wangari Maathai, who basically spent her life doing what I was talking about in the poem, Giving to nature; Nature smiles back (click to read). It still amazes me, how a person I never met could influence my life, and her demise strike me so hard, to a point of being a better me. Read on….

Tribute from the Heart

Life,

To amaze me it does.

Some people are bad,

To the extent of  the world,

Protesting against them!

Others are so good,

That the day,

They leave,

We all grieve,

And feel deeply hurt.

Though they were neither,

Kith nor kin,

And never will be.

That leaves me questioning,

In fact, pondering, and wondering aloud,

What kind of person am I?

The latter or the former?

I will try,

Yea I will!

Try to be a person like,

The Daughter of African Soil,

Our only,

Professor Wangari Maathai.

You will always stay in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

