I Belong to Two Worlds

Here is a poem about being in two places at the same time,in essence, belonging to two entities at the same time. Enjoy!

 

I belong to two worlds

I belong to two worlds,

I am an African Woman,

I belong to my father and mother,

And I also belong to my husband and his clan.

I cannot shun any of my identities,

Because I belong to both.

 

I belong to two worlds,

I belong to my husband,

I am a wife,

And I belong to my children,

I am a mother,

I have forgotten that I have a life to live,

Because I do not belong to me.

 

I am a student,

I belong to my campus,

Anything I do,

Will be under the campus’ identity.

I am a working class,

I belong to my employer,

He dictates my lifestyle,

When I wake up,

When to sleep,

How much time I have over the weekend,

How much I earn,

Dear me.

 

I belong to the government,

And I belong to God,

I have no right to take my own life,

Because I belong to the government,

And I can be sued for it.

I belong to God,

He created me,

I cannot take my life,

It belongs to him.

 

I belong to mortality,

Because I am a Mortal Human,

Yes, the inevitable death will one day claim me.

Yet, I belong to Immortality,

Yes, I am a spirit too,

In the after life,

I will be somewhere,

I want to believe I will be in Paradise,

 

Do you hear me?

I belong to two worlds,

But I do not belong to me.

 

3 thoughts on “I Belong to Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

